Adventures in Cooking – Week 10

This week, as most of you know, is the final week of the NCAA tournament.  I’ve had to listen about different basketball teams from all the guys at work and the guys at bowling (oh joy!) for the past month in anticipation of this event.  Now, I’m not a big sports fan.  I’ll watch games on television if someone else is watching it and I’ll even go to a live game or two, but I’m not the kind of person who remembers players names and their statistics.  Because of my indifference to sports, I’m sure I surprised a couple of people when I filled out a bracket this year.  Sadly, I’m doing pretty bad so far.   My final two teams are still in the playoffs, so I’m crossing my fingers that I’m right on that front so that I gain back some points!

This week’s recipe from “How Sweet It Is” is perfect for any party, especially for the games this week, and it’s super simple to make!

Creamy Feta Dip with Jalapeños

Creamy Feta Dip with Jalapenos

Ingredients

  • 16 oz brick of feta cheese
  • 3 whole jalapeño peppers
  • 1/4 cup olive oil + 1 tbsp
  • 1 bulb garlic
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
  • zest of 1/2 a lemon
  • salt and pepper

Instructions

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Chose the top off the garlic bulb and drizzle it with a teaspoon of olive oil.  Wrap it in foil and roast for 25 – 30 minutes, or until garlic is golden in color.  Remove from the oven and let cool.  Once the garlic is cool, squeeze the roasted garlic of the bulb onto a plate and mash with a fork.
  • Change the oven setting to broil.  Brush the jalapeños with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Place them in the oven for 3 – 5 minutes, until the jalapeño skin starts to bubble and brown.  Remove from the oven and let cool. Once the jalapeños are cooled, remove the skins, cut in half, and discard the seeds.  Chop into small pieces.
  • In a large bowl, crumble the feta bricks.  Add the chopped jalapeños, the zest of half a lemon, the juice of half a lemon, the mashed roasted garlic, and 1/4 cup of olive oil.  Blend the ingredients with a fork.  You want the feta to be a bit “wet”, a mix between a spread and a dip.
  • Taste the feta and season with salt and pepper as desired.   Serve warm.

This dip can be served with pita chips, warm pita or naan, spread on sandwiches, or any other type of chip.  This recipe is probably in my top 5 for dips and I’m sure I’ll make it again and again since it’s just that good.

Leave a Reply

