Birthday Party Success and Cupcake Decorating!

After all of my fears that I wrote about last week, I’d say the birthday party was a success!  Davis and his friends had such a good time!

My biggest concern was what do we do for 1 and 1/2 hours.  Well, the kids solved that one for us!  I didn’t realize that Davis’ toys are all new toys to the other kids.  They came right in and dove into the toy box.  I soon realized that while the kids were playing and the parents talking, 45 minutes had already gone by.   I brought out the homemade playdough for the kids to play with and they each got their own color!  They loved having different colors from each other and playing with the different kitchen tools such as spatulas, spoons and brushes.  We then cleaned them up and served cupcakes!  I made my own multi-colored frosting with help from Chica and Jo.  It was super easy to do and it was a huge success!

What you need:

Cake Frosting/Icing (I used whipped)

Icing Bag (Use a plastic baggie in a pinch)

Star-shaped Icing Tip

Paste Food Coloring or Gel Food Coloring (Liquid will not work)

Large Drinking Glass

Small Paint Brush

How to:

1. Prep your disposable bag by attaching the tip and coupler.  Place in the glass and fold the top over the glass.

2. Use a paint brush to place the paste in wide vertical lines.  Use as many colors as you would like, you can also repeat colors.

3. Fill the bag by scooping the icing into the bag.  Squeeze the bag into an empty bowl until you start to see the colors.

4. Squeeze the icing in design that you would like!

Here is my version of this simple cupcake decorating idea!

When I do this again I will place the food coloring closer together so that the color is more prominent but I loved my results!  Enjoy and have fun decorating.

Comments

  1. Elsie Wierzba says:

    What i’ve seen so far this site has some great things on it. I see a lot of talented people on it. Will be happy to be a member.

Leave a Reply

