Personalized Canvas

This week I’m going to backtrack and show everyone what I made my littlest sister Katie for Christmas this year. Each year around Thanksgiving, we draw names for gifts and I drew Katie’s. Now, believe it or not, Katie can be pretty hard to buy for. She usually just asks for cash or something that is way over the set price range, which puts a damper on the whole gift giving thing. This year she didn’t even tell me what she wanted for Christmas, so I decided to surprise her with some artwork for her new place. I found a picture of a cute canvas idea on Pinterest and decided to try it out. Unfortunately, I just took a picture of it on my iPod and didn’t write down the website, so I had to try to figure it out on my own. This is what I came up with.

Personalized Canvas

Supplies:

  • Stretched Canvas (any size you what)
  • Black acrylic paint
  • White acrylic paint
  • Paint brush
  • Scrapbook letters, different sizes
  • White paint marker
  • Decorative cardboard letters (that spell name)
  • Hot glue gun/hot glue

Directions:

1. Paint the entire canvas white. I know this seems like a silly step, since the canvas is white, but it helps prime the surface of your canvas, so don’t skip this step

2. Then place your scrapbook letters over the canvas. The scrapbook letters I bought were stickers and stayed on the canvas. I wanted an inspirational picture for Katie, so I placed words that I thought best described her. I also used different fonts and sized letter to make the finished product more interesting.

3. Next, I rubbed the letters hard to make sure they were well secured to the canvas to prevent the next two layers of paint from seeping under them. Then I painted over the letters with more white acrylic paint.

4. After letting the white paint dry, I painted the entire canvas with black acrylic paint.

5. Then, with the paint still wet, I then took a pin and removed the letters carefully.

6. When you remove the letters, some of the paint will stick so the edges will not be as neat as you may like. That’s where the white paint marker comes into handy. After letting the canvas dry completely, take your white paint marker and go over any letters that may need touching up.

6. The last step is to glue your cardboard letters to the canvas with hot glue.

Optional: As you can see, I wanted to add a little more bling to my pic. I made a couple of fabric roses from some scraps of fabric and glued them to the top. Here’s a site that provides instructions if you want to add a few flowers to your canvas.

I think it turned out really cute and it only took a few hours to complete. You could use this for anyone you know; even use it as a great art piece for any kids room.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Personalized Canvas (samegarden4differentflowers.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

