Adventures in Cooking – Week 11

This week at work we had a food day.  Normally, when we have a food day I can’t eat anything because it’s catered from On the Boarder or some other equally fattening restaurant.  Luckily, this food day everyone was asked to bring in food that started with the letter B (don’t ask me where they came up with). The first thing that popped into my head was blueberries.  I love blueberries!  They are perfect little snacks and they go well in smoothies, pies, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, etc.  Since I consumed so much sugar during the family road trip last weekend, I was experiencing sugar cravings and decided to make mini blueberry crisps.  This recipe is not the healthiest out there, but I tried to make healthy substitutes to the original recipe that I found on Sweet Tooth’s blog so that it wasn’t too bad for you.  For the sugars, I just used non-caloric versions and I used vegan butter from Whole Foods. Unfortunately, I do not have a picture this week since I forgot to take one before I went into work that day and they were almost gone by the end of the day!

Mini Blueberry Crisps

Crust Ingredients:

  • mini pre-made Kebler graham cracker crusts (I like my coworkers, but not enough to make handmade pie crust and fill those single-serving pie tins for the entire office)

Filling Ingredients:

  • 5 cups fresh blueberries
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Juice of half of a lemon + zest

Topping Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • Quick shake nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • In a large bowl, mix together blueberries, vanilla, sugar, flour, cinnamon, and lemon juice.  Sprinkle zest over berry mixture and place in a 13×9 buttered dish (or about 16 mini graham cracker pie crusts) – (If you are using frozen blueberries, let the mixture sit in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes so that the blueberries can soak up the other ingredients)
  • In another bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon, and salt.
  • Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, cut in butter and spread topping over berries – Bake for 20-30 minutes

Something to note, I made these the evening before work and when I tried one it tasted okay, but not great.  I brought then in the next day, heated one up in the microwave for 1 minute and they tasted fantastic!  I don’t know why, but the ingredients just tasted more rich the next day.

Leave a Reply

