Getting Organized – Creating your own Grand Central Station

Last week I came to the realization that my family needed its own “Grand Central Station”. You know, a specific place that gives your family all the important information they need to carry out their day the best they can. This great epiphany came after I showed up for work on the wrong night…again. I also forgot my oldest had a field trip and scheduled a dentist appointment for him on the same day. Needless to say, I needed some help keeping all my family’s activities straight. I searched the stores and internet for pre-made organization centers and really didn’t like anything I saw (also, they were expensive and I’m c.h.e.a.p), so I decided to create my own. The great thing about creating your own station is that you can customize it fit your family’s needs. Here’s how I created my family’s “Grand Central Station”.

Supplies:

  • 17in x 23in Cork Framed Bulletin Board
  • 1 yd fabric (your choice)
  • 10in x 7in Plastic Mail Organizer
  • Pencil Cup
  • Pencils
  • Sharpies
  • Calender
  • Push Pins
  • Hot Glue Gun/Glue
  • Magnets/Adhesive Strips/Nails

Directions:

1. Take your bulletin board and set it on a flat work surface, face up. Place your fabric over the bulletin board, making sure the fabric overlaps the sides. Place a push-pin in each corner of the bulletin board to hold the fabric in place and cut the fabric along the OUTSIDE of the frame.

Fabric cut to fit bulletin board frame

2. Next, take a butter knife (careful with this step) and carefully tuck the fabric under the frame (between the frame and the cork). You will need to the tuck in one side, and then tuck in the opposite side. You will notice that the fabric will become very taut…this is what you want.

Using knife to tuck in fabric under frame

Fabric covered bulletin board

3. After you get your bulletin board base completed, you will need to decide how your want your bulletin board to function. For my family, we needed a calendar to help keep track of family schedules and special events, a mail organizer, and lots of extra space for various school papers that always seem to crowd my refrigerator. Some other ideas for your board: grocery list, message board, menu, to do list, chore list, etc… Whatever your family needs is what you need to include on your bulletin board.

4. Next, lay out your items on your bulletin board. As you can see, I placed a calendar and mail organizer on the top portion of my bulletin board. Then, I added a pencil holder on the bottom. To attach these items to my board, I used a hot glue gun. Make sure to let your items dry before you place your bulletin board upright.

5. Flip your bulletin board over and attach either the magnets (with hot glue) or adhesive strips (these usually come with the bulletin board) to the back, if you are not hanging the board up with nails.

6. Now add all your fun accessories. I wanted to keep our board simple so I added different colored sharpies (each color for a different activity), pencils, and metallic push pins.

Let the creative juices flow and bling your board however your choose…fun pics of your family, ribbons, funky fabrics…anything that displays your family’s personality.

We have really enjoyed this ‘Central Station Board”. My oldest is a schedule nut, so he loves knowing when I have to work and what’s for dinner that night. So far, it’s helped keep us organized and on track.

Comments

  1. I love this idea! I have a large family and can use all the organizing help we can get! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

