Road to a Healthier Me! — Open Determination

I have questioned posting about this topic for a couple of weeks and actually began writing this when I was at Emily’s for her baby shower.  I was afraid expose my endeavors to the world, but I think it is the right thing to do.

All of my life, there has been one thing that I have really struggled with.  I have tried countless times to get over it, but it has haunted me most of my life…my weight. This weight issue has plagued me since I was in middle school, probably because I was made to feel like the biggest kid there.  Many times a week I would walk down the hall and someone would yell out, “WATCH OUT! Wide load coming through.”

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love who I am.  The experiences that I have gone through have made me the person I am today.  I know that I am beautiful, but I also know that my body is God’s temple and right now it’s looking a little run down.

So, my pledge to you, and myself, is to rebuild this temple God has given me from the inside out.  While I restructuring my outward appearance, I also want to focus on strengthening my spiritual walk.  So, here’s the deal…I need some major accountability partners, because I know that my strength is not enough to tackle this large feat alone.  Philippians 4:13 says “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me”.  I know that I have God on my side, but I also believe that God has called some of you to be prayer warriors/motivators to help keep me in check throughout this whole process.

I will “try” to document this experience every step of the way, which will probably be a miracle in itself.  Just like my sister Tory with her cooking, I will give you the ups and downs of my “Journey to a Healthier Me” every week.  I would love feedback and helpful hints because I am a young, single woman on a very strict budget (or one who attempts to be on a really strict budget).  Please, I encourage you to give me uplifting words because they may be something I will hold onto throughout my journey.  It will take hard work, but I know this is something that I have ignored for a long time.

I want to live more like Jesus and focus on Him, not my physical appearance or limitations. I want to stop running away from my problems and start running toward my goals. Who am I kidding….I’m gonna start with walking! I don’t want to die right off the bat!

Many Blessings,

Comments

  1. Melany says:

    Katie,
    I am so excited to read this and I know for a fact that God has these little blessings throughout our life at just the right timing! I, too struggle with the same issue. I actually have to shed some weight, get healthy and rethink my mindset. Often times folks like to go on challenges and competitions or eat like nil to loose weight in a hurry up and get er done mode. NOT me.. I am not at all competitive, for I am truly excited for others to succeed. I do not “need” to be a winner. I do like goals and set mine for sure however I believe life can take turns in having our timeline changed because it is really His timeline and then we later go on to realize it was better than way afterall. So in light of your quest, I would love to support you and we can be buddy systems for each other! I have to be realistic in my goal of the total loss as well as the timing of such and honestly slow and steady is the way to be. I suffer from a Lung and airways disease that leaves me limited on amount of exurtion I can do but … this is merely a hurdle… so, I shall write down my thoughts, type to you and it will surely be a win win for us both. See, you are already doing so much good just through a simple post. First, I say, we go to the grocery store and buy healthy, low fat, fresh and colorful. That way it is in the house, in the fridge and ready to enjoy. Often times we graze on the wrong things since they are there in front of us consuming much more calories than we even realize! My problem is portion control, not snacking so the effort has to be utmost important on when to say when. Are you ready? I am! Let’s begin the first step to the new us! Go Go Go, Katie, I KNOW you can
    Your cheerleader from afar-
    Melany~

  2. Kathy H says:

    You have my total support! You are beautiful inside & out and I look forward to praying for you daily. My hints w/b: Lots of fiber (fruits/veggies/cereal), little of foods with fat, yummy chicken & fish, and enjoy the outdoors of walking on God’s awesome Earth every day. God bless, keep, & guide you all the way with Scripture daily.
    Blessings,
    Kathy

  3. Melany,

    I am extremely excited that you have chose to join me on this journey! It is going to be hard but I think we can do it!

    Kathy,
    You are a true blessing as always! Love you!

    Thank you both!

    Katie

  4. Hi Katie, just stumbled across your blog and wanted you to know you are in my prayers! I too just started my journey to losing weight and creating a healthier mindset. To do this I have decided to go extreme … In the past week I have successfully converted to veganism! Hey, desperate times call for desperate measures, right? My reasoning is that I will be forced to rethink my ENTIRE way of thinking and the planning of every ingredient that goes into my meals…and well… food in general. The past week has already brought its struggles and temptations but God truly has proven Himself (again…and again) to provide for my every need! One especially hard moment brought me to a family gathering this weekend where there was..gasp…nothing for me to eat! I excused myself, found a spare bedroom, and got on my knees! I looked up and, sparkling in the sun, was a glass cross hanging in the window with the reminder “I am the vine, you are the branch”. Comfort, strength, and peace ensued. Lesson learned? BE prepared ahead of time! Oh yeah, and trust God 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

