Mother’s Day Mugs

I can’t wait till Sunday! Do you know why? It’s Mother’s Day…one of the few days a year I am commanded by my children to not lift a finger the entire day! The day that I am showered with a gourmet breakfast in bed, hand-cut flowers, and dazzling gifts galore. Well…okay…so I may be exaggerating a little bit. Usually I get cinnamon toast and OJ for breakfast, homemade cards, and lots of hugs and kisses. And you know what, I wouldn’t change it for the world.

As a mom, I now have a little glimpse of how hard my own mom actually worked to raise 4 wildly different and unique daughters (I can barely handle my own 2 boys…I can’t imagine adding 2 more!). So, on this Mother’s Day, I decided to pamper mom with basket full of things to help her relax and unwind. I filled it up with goodies such as magazines, bubble bath, lotion, tea, cookies, and of course, ya gotta always add something homemade to your baskets for that extra special touch.

This year, I made Mother’s Day Mugs. This is a fairly easy project, but it does require a very specific marker, so plan accordingly. First, you will need a set of 4 coffee mugs. Choose whatever color you think your mom (or yourself…who says you can’t treat yourself!) will like best. Next, you will need to order a special marker especially for writing on ceramic. I ordered mine from this site. Make sure you get the fine point marker for writing and choose a color that coordinates well with your mugs.

1. Wash your mugs.

2. Once your mugs are dry, you’re ready to write on them. For my mugs, I decided to write scripture that reminded me of my mom. I just free-handed the words on my mugs. Here are some of my favorite scriptures that I felt best described my mom:

  • Her hands reach out to the poor, and she extends her hands to the needy. Proverbs 31:20
  • She opens her mouth with wisdom and loving instruction is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:26
  • Her sons rise up and call her blessed. Her husband also praises her:“Many womenare capable, but you surpass them all!” Proverbs 31:28-29
  • Charm is deceptive and beauty is fleeting, but a woman who fears the Lord will be praised. Proverbs 31:30

3. Place the mugs in a cool oven (DO NOT PREHEAT). Turn your oven to 300°F (149°C). Once your oven has reached this temperature, bake for 30 minutes. After 30 minutes, turn the oven off and allow it to cool back to room temperature gradually.

4. Now your mugs are ready to be used. As you can see, I placed mine in a prominent location in my basket.

After all of my items were added, I wrapped the entire basket in clear cellophane wrapping. I added a pretty bow and I was done! To learn how to make a gift basket, click here.

Doesn’t that look pretty! What mom wouldn’t LOVE unwrapping a basket full of her favorite goodies this Mother’s Day. The added bonus…scripture mugs made especially for her.

I hope you try this project. It’s really easy, and if you mess up while writing, you can easily wipe it off with a damp cloth. I also think this would be a great project for kids to do. Wouldn’t an ABC mug made in your kids handwriting or your kids art on a mug be super cute. Hmmm…I may have to use that for a grandparent gift.

Enjoy creating your Mother’s Day Mugs.

Comments

  1. where did you get your mugs?
    thanks!

Leave a comment